Entry guidelines

To register your interest for the 2018 Awards for Excellence, please send your contact details to excellenceaward@dmirs.wa.gov.au.

Nominations for the 2017 Safety and Health Resources Sector Awards are now closed.

Who is eligible?

Entry is open to all Western Australian resources sector companies and/or sites (metalliferous, coal, quarries, exploration, dangerous goods operators, oil and gas) including contractors servicing the Western Australian resources industry.

There is no limit to the number of nominations a company can submit.

Key dates

8 February 2017

Nominations open

10 April 2017

Deadline for entries

August 2017

Finalists notified

October 2017

Winners announced at Awards for Excellence event


Entering a submission

Step one

In the online submission, nominate the category which best suits your innovation:

  • Safety Representatives
  • Systems and People
  • Engineering

Please note the same nominations cannot be submitted under more than one category. However, the awards judges may at their discretion amend the category under which a nomination is considered.

Step two

In your online submission, ensure you complete all necessary sections specifically addressing the judging criteria and should include:

  • A statement of approximate costs (if known)
  • Company logo
  • Images, maps and diagrams with captions, as appropriate
  • 100 word summary for use in DMP publications and website.

Should you be selected as a finalist, you may be required to provide additional high resolution images to be used in DMP publications.

Step three

Submit your entry no later than 5.00pm Monday, 10 April 2017 via online portal.

Applicants must provide all relevant information as outlined in the assessment criteria

The judging process

Preliminary judging round

  • The preliminary judging round will be undertaken in May 2017
  • All entries will be assessed by the judging panel based on the information provided in the submission
  • A shortlist of finalists will be compiled and those entries will proceed to the final judging round as finalists.
  • All finalists will be notified in August 2017
  • Judges’ decisions are final and no further correspondence will be undertaken.

Final judging round

  • In the final judging round, a panel of experts will assess the innovations based on the information provided in the submission
  • Those being considered for an award may be required to participate in a brief telephone interview and may need to be involved in a non-site innovation validation
  • Judges’ decisions are final and no further correspondence will be undertaken.


All finalists (or a selected company representative) will be required to present a 10 minute overview of the innovation at a special forum prior to the Awards for Excellence in October 2017.

  • The presentation is an opportunity to provide an overview of the innovations including the challenge being addressed and the developmentand implementation of an innovative solution
  • Importantly it also an opportunity to share with forum attendees information about the transferability of the innovation to other industry settings as well as the lessons learned throughout the development and implementation process.
  • Attendees will be provided with the opportunity for Q&A with each finalist following the presentation.

Presentations will be requested to be made available following the forum for the purpose of being shared broadly across the industry through the DMP website or other media or publications.

Examples of past submissions




Safety Representatives (Formerly People):

Georgiou Group Pty Ltd

Safety leadership initiative


Newmont Asia Pacific

Safety culture initiative


Rio Tinto Iron Ore

Health and wellbeing program

Systems and People (Formerly Systems):

Argyle Diamonds

Innovation to better manage material flows


Fortescue Metals Group

Traffic management systems


Mt Gibson Mining Ltd

Fatigue management program


Leighton Contractors

Use of robotics in maintenance processes


Kwinana Industrial Services

Portable safety shower


Quiet Acoustics

Industrial Noise Panel


Please note the above list is an indication only. Companies are encouraged to submit safety and health innovations which do not fit the above scope.

For more information on previous award winners, please see Previous recipients

Terms and conditions

The following Terms and conditions of entry apply to all submissions for the Department of Mines and Petroleum’s 2017 Safety and Health Resources Sector Awards (Safety Awards).

  1. DMP must receive submissions in accordance with the criteria by 5pm on 10 April 2017, to be eligible to participate in the 2017 Safety Awards. For reasons of fairness late applications will not be accepted.
  2. It is the responsibility of an applicant to ensure that all information relevant to the submission is:
    1. Provided in full and meets the document five page limit requirement
    2. Correct – any information provided which, in the view of the judging panel, is misleading or deceptive in any way will result in disqualification.
  3. The judging panel has complete discretion and its decision is final and binding in:
    1. Assessing a submission’s compliance with the terms and conditions of entry
    2. Assessing that submission against the selection criteria
    3. Determining the winner or making no award if the eligible submissions are not within the required standard
    4. Any other matters relating to the Safety Awards.
  4. The assessment, conduct and results of the Safety Awards will not create any legal obligations between applicants and DMP, and no feedback on submissions will be given.
  5. DMP will not be responsible or liable for:
    1. Any loss or damage to submissions
    2. Any loss, injury or negative publicity to an applicant as a direct or indirect result of the Safety Awards.
  6. DMP reserves the right to verify information contained in a submission, including requiring an applicant to answer questions or provide additional information relating to the submission at any time during the judging process.
  7. All submissions will be treated as confidential except for purposes associated with the Safety Awards and the matters set out below.
  8. By entering the Safety Awards you agree for your organisation to be part of any media publicity and for information provided in a submission to be used for promotional activities of DMP, if required.
  9. To be eligible to enter a submission for consideration in the Safety Awards, your submission must comply with the following conditions:
    1. It must not be commercially available within Australia or internationally.
    2. It must not infringe on any intellectual property rights, including patents, copyright, industrial design rights, trademarks and trade secrets, of another company or person.